Hanover Public Schools Virtual Library

HomeCurriculum OverviewSOL InformationResourcesTextbooksReturn to Instruction

Virginia Mathematics Standards of Learning

SOL Assessments
Assessment Test given in the following grades:

Math 3
  Math 4
  Math 5

Math 6
  Math 7
  Math 8 (Pre-Algebra)
  Algebra I
  Algebra II


Contact Us

Ian Shenk
   Curriculum Specialist


Link to Virginia Department of Education Standards of Learning Website with current information on Mathematics SOL


The Mathematics Standards of Learning assessments will continue to be based on the 2001 Mathematics Standards of Learning through the summer 2011 test administration. Field-test items on the spring 2011 Mathematics Standards of Learning assessments will include the new content of the revised 2009 standards. In the 2011-2012 school year, the Standards of Learning assessments will be based upon the revised 2009 Standards.

  • Standards – identify the main objectives to be taught at each grade level/course.

  • Curriculum Frameworks – provide teachers additional details regarding the essential understandings, questions, knowledge, and skills to address for each objective.

  • Test Blueprints – identify the number of items on the end-of-year assessment by specific reporting categories for 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th (Pre-Algebra), Algebra I, Geometry, and Algebra II.

  • Released Tests – provide teachers, students, and parents with what the official assessment will look like so that they can become familiar with format, length, and adherence to the test blueprint.  There are protocols for how, when, and for which tests these are released.

  • Enhanced Scope & Sequence – provides teachers with ideas, lessons, and other resources to bring the standards to life and ensure alignment between their instruction and course objectives.